Goodbye East, Goodbye West

Vinyl $16-30

Out of Stock
Please select the correct shipping option for your country.

Track List

  1. When Last We Heard of Gentlemen
  2. The River In Its Sunday Garb
  3. Imperium In Imperio
  4. S'vivon
  5. The Innocence of Facts
  6. Goodbye East, Goodbye West

Goodbye East, Goodbye West is the second album from Madagascar, a group of musicians from Baltimore MD. Both their live performances and first album, Forced March, have been compared to musics as disparate as: Balkan folk, post-rock, Black Heart Procession, Explosions in the Sky, Devotchka, and Sigur Ros. Since the release of their debut, the group has shared stages with some of today’s most interesting artists, including Animal Collective, Ariel Pink, Mono, Eluvium, Rebecca Gates, Beach House, Alasdair Roberts, Cass McCombs, and Castanets. After a few years of performing, the group was ready to record Goodbye East, Goodbye West, engineered by Rob Girardi (Beach House, WZT Hearts, Abouretum, Celebration.) and mastered by TJ Lipple (Aloha.)
Goodbye East, Goodbye West documents the refinement and growth of the Madagascar’s unique sound. Each track uses crisscrossing accordion, saw, and glockenspiel melodies; anchored by bass, acoustic guitar, and percussion. These instrumental elements are perfectly punctuated with beautiful wordless vocals. From playful waltzes and clanky dirges, to minimalist scrapes and drones, to their arrangement of the Chanukah staple “S’vivon,” Goodbye East, Goodbye West, is a uniquely satisfying and mystifying collection of songs.