Joseph Shabason

Anne EP
Limited to 300 copies worldwide
Includes bonus track Gymnopédie No. 1
Full-color LP jacket featuring artwork by Andre Ethier
Vinyl packaged in black poly-lined inner sleeve
Please select the correct shipping option for your country.


Track List

  1. West of Heaven
  2. 1517
  3. I Don't Want To Be Your Love (featuring Dan Bejar)
  4. Broken Hearted Kota
  5. Face Chord
  6. Gymnopédie No. 1 (vinyl bonus track)

The Anne EP is the afterword to Joseph Shabason’s acclaimed 2018 harmonic suite Anne through which he examined and processed his mother’s struggle with Parkinson’s disease. Employing a small supporting cast that includes vocalist Dan Bejar (Destroyer) and guitarist Thomas Gill (Owen Pallett), Anne EP spotlights the Toronto saxophonist as he builds empathic tropospheres of woodwinds and synthesizers, deepening the sentiment established by the EP's companion album, which was released in November 2018. The detail and idiosyncrasy beneath the material's dawn-of-the-CD-era sheen, elevates Shabason's work far beyond mere aesthetic exercise, cementing jazz, ambient sound design, and new age revivalism into a timely new genre all his own.


Tenor Sax, Alto Sax, Synths, Percussion, Field Recordings:
Joseph Shabason

Dan Bejar

Thom Gill

Upright Bass, Fretless Bass, Piano:
Bram Gielen

Percussion, Kit:
Phi Melanson

Nicole Rampersaud

JP Carter

Hugh Marsh

Michael Davidson

CS 80:
Ted Bois

Drum Machine + FX:
Kieran Adams