J. Tillman

Singing Ax

Out of Stock
Vinyl comes with mp3 download.
Please select the correct shipping option for your country.


Track List

  1. Three Sisters
  2. Diamondback
  3. Love No Less Worthy
  4. One Task
  5. Our Beloved Tyrant
  6. Tillman's Rag
  7. Mere Ornaments
  8. Singing Ax
  9. Madness on the Mountain
  10. Maria
  11. A Seat at the Table

J. Tillman's 7th full-length record is called Singing Ax and was recorded in three days, February 2010, by Steve Albini at Electrical Audio in Chicago. Bob Weston mastered the album. If you are pressed for time, tracks 2 “Diamondback”, 4 “One Task”, and 6 “Tillman's Rag”, should give you a general idea what the record's about. Very few of the songs feature accompaniment, though a few include mellotron and drum machine (track 1, “Three Sisters”, for example). There is something of a drum explosion at the conclusion of track 11 “A Seat At The Table”. The lyrics are predominately third-person narratives, save for a few stock-in-trade existential musings, such as the title track.


J. Tillman

Steve Albini

Bob Weston