Nat Baldwin

Dome Branches: The MVP Demos
LP includes download.
Please select the correct shipping option for your country.


Track List

  1. Lake Erie
  2. Only To Find
  3. Dome Branches
  4. Black Square
  5. De-Attached
  6. One Two Three
  7. The Felled Trees
  8. Look She Said
  9. Mask I Wear

In 2008 double bassist/singer-songwriter Nat Baldwin released an album titled Most Valuable Player. Now 5 years later, Western Vinyl is proud to be releasing the original demos from Most Valuable Player, which were recorded in 2005 and 2006.
The demo album, titled Dome Branches: The MVP Demos, features Nat's bandmate from Dirty Projectors, David Longstreth on guitar and electronics, Djim Reynolds on guitar, Nathan Horton on drums, Tim Keiper on drums, Matt Bauder on Clarinets, Jessica Pavone on viola. Throughout these demos, there's a remarkable raw energy stemming at least in part from the fact that Nat hadn't performed any of the material live yet, and Longstreth hadn't heard the songs before, so his guitar parts were made up on the spot.
After studying avant-garde jazz and improvisation with jazz legend Anthony Braxton, Nat Baldwin started writing songs featuring double bass and vocals. In 2005 he joined Dirty Projectors. In addition to his work with Dirty Projectors, he has performed on Grizzly Bear's Sheilds, Vampire Weekend's Contra, and Department of Eagles' In Ear Park. In between touring and recording with Dirty Projectors, Nat made time to record his 2011 album People Changes. More recently, he's been writing, recording, and arranging songs for a new album to be released in 2014. You can hear some of the new material live this September when Nat tours in the US and Canada.


Nat Baldwin, Matthew Bauder, Nathan Horton, Time Keiper, David Longstreth & Jessica Pavone

David Longstreth and Djim Reynolds

Paul Gold, Salt Mastering

Jared Bell